Latest News


The International Dental Educationists Association (IDEA) in collaboration with the Coorg Institute of Dental Sciences, Virajpet; hosted the first Annual Graduate Dental Science Symposium at the Coorg Institute of Dental Sciences, Virajpet on the 27th and 28th February 2017. The Symposium was inaugurated by Prof Dr. Mohamed Ibrahim, Founding Dean, Faculty of Dentistry, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Malaysia and Dr. Prof Vishal Rao, Head & Neck Onco Surgeon, Health Care Global Cancer Center and Member of the Tobacco Control Committee, Government of Karnataka.

Dr. Sunil Muddaiah, Dean, Coorg Institute of Dental Sciences, in his address said India’s share in Global Research is nothing short of frustrating. A nation with such dismal figures in Research has the largest network of educational institutions in the world!! In the Asian Continent; countries like South Korea has 7 world ranked Universities, Taiwan has 3 world ranked Universities, while India has just 1 this year!!

It is in this backdrop that the Coorg Institute of Dental Sciences decided to host the first Annual Graduate Dental Symposium for Undergraduate and Postgraduate students. The Symposium was attended by 800 students from all over India for a series of paper and e-poster presentations which included: Original Research, Reviews, Case Reports and Technical notes.

Prof Dr. Mohamed Ibrahim in his speech applauded Dr. Sunil Muddaiah for initiating such pan global science research programs.

Dr. Prof. Vishal Rao, Head and Neck Onco Surgeon stressed upon the importance of such knowledge sharing programs and requested all the researchers to utilize the platform to spread research knowledge.

International Researchers gave lecturers to sensitize the younger generation in the essence and intricacies of Scientific Research. 39 Research papers and 33 Research e-posters were presented in the symposium. Besides the Research papers, E-posters, Reviews, Case reports and Technical note competitions which were keenly contested by the 590 student delegates; there were nine other competitions in the backdrop of the main symposium. These events included Dr. Sunil Muddaiah said that next years event will see graduate student participants from 8 countries and will be a Pan Global Graduate Student Research Event. It will be conducted in April 2018 he concluded.

The prize for best research paper was won by Varshitha Reddy, III BDS, Coorg Institute of Dental Sciences, Virajpet for her research titled “The comparative evolution of efficiency of coconut oil tooth paste and standard tooth paste in chronic generalized gingivitis”. The prize for best e-poster was bagged by Sindhu P and Arpitha P for “Specially designed titanium mesh for reconstruction of orbital floor fractures” from A.J Institute of Dental Sciences, Mangalore.

The prizes were distributed by Dr. Sunil Muddaiah, Dean, Coorg Institute of Dental Sciences, Virajpet and Prof Dr. Mohamed Ibrahim, Founding Dean, Faculty of Dentistry, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Malaysia. The function concluded with a vote of thanks speech delivered by Tony Joseph, President of the Student Council, Coorg Institute of Dental Sciences.

The prizes for the events were sponsored by
Department of Oral Medicine – Table Clinic
Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery – Gray’s Anatomy
Department of Oral pathology – DR. SHERLOCK
Department of Periodontics – Treasure Hunt
Department of Prosthodontics – Quiz
Department of Orthodontics – Collage
Department of Conservative and Endodontics Dentistry - Pedagogy
Department of Pedodontics and Preventive Dentistry - Spellathon

The detail of winner and runners in each event are mentioned below-

Hall - 1 Original Research
I prize
1. Varshitha – Q17-127

II Prize
1. Nair Meera Vishwanathan - Q17-123
2. Yashwin - Q17-136

Hall 2 - Original Research
I Prize
1. Sheane / Ashwin – Q17-146
2. Nowshiya – Q17-141

III Prize
1. Divyashree / Yashwin – Q17-128
2. Shreyana – Q17-136

Hall 3 - Original Research
I Prize
1. Suchitha – Q17-142
II Prize
1. Bibi Ameena – Q17-137
III Prize
1. Krithika Shetty – Q17-120
2. Siri P B – Q17-121

Review / Case Report
I Prize
1. Annu Grace Tarakan – Q17-140
II Prize
1. Ritika Jeenoor/ Sahana L – Q17-125

III Prize
1. Monica / Sitara –Q17-171
2. Tarini / Samantha – Q17-148
3. Anusha Ravindra – Q17-117
Best paper
1. Varshitha - Q17-127
Screen -1
1. Dyuthi Reddy / Vaishali – Q17-112
2. Gishelle – Q17-149
3. Rashmi P V / Sanghavi J S
Screen -2
1. Manasa S / Manisha T- Q17-113
2. Nancy Thomas / Keerthana Bollamma – Q17-163
3. Avapati Pravallika / Anupama K – Q17-111
Screen -3
1. Annu Grace Tharakan / Anjurani – Q17-159
2. Bharath S Q17-106
3. Reshma Haridas / Parvathi Sudeep –Q17-151
4. Priya C / Kavyashree – Q17-154

Best E-Poster
Sindhu P / Arpita Patil – Q17-109

  1. Table Clinic
    • Category – 1
      • Rithu, Prarthana, Jyotsna and Chandana - Innovations in dental materials / product.
      • Category – 2 Nigam Bopanna, Sandesh, Nowshiya and Divyashree – Dental clinics of the features.
  2. Gray’s Anatomy
    • Divyshree
  3. Dr. Sherlock
    • Nirupama, Siri and Aparna
  4. Treasure Hunt
    • Zeba, Meghna, Varshitha Reddy, Aswin, Tanisha, K.Avanti and Atul
  5. Quiz
    • Jasmina, Sridevi and Sitara
  6. Collage
    • Arya, Tenzin, Diya, Nida and Nidhi – Million Dollar Smile
  7. Pedagogy
    • Nowshiya - Biologic width
  8. Spellathon
    • Merlin and Mitha
  9. Oral Health Documentary
    • Aswin, Atul, Balram, Pooja, Surjith and Shine Alexander - Countdown